All posts by SWickramatilake

NASADAD releases updated timeline of STR and SOR funding

In 2018, NASADAD developed a timeline of the State Targeted Response to the Opioid Crisis (STR) and State Opioid Response (SOR) grant programs. The timeline outlines key dates, such as: when grants were authorized; when Congress appropriated funds; when funding opportunity announcements (FOAs) were released; funding award periods for States for each of the grant programs; and more. NASADAD has updated the timeline to reflect two recent developments:

  • In December 2019, Congress appropriated level funding of $1.5 billion for the State Opioid Response (SOR) grant program, and noted that “stimulant abuse” would be an allowable use of SOR funds in FY 2020.
  • In February 2020, the Administration released its proposed budget for FY 2021 and included a request of $1.585 billion for SOR, an increase of $85 million compared to FY 2020.

Access the updated STR/SOR timeline here.

NASADAD releases State STR/SOR Profiles

NASADAD has released State-specific profiles that describe highlights of each State alcohol and drug agency’s efforts to address the opioid crisis with use of the State Targeted Response (STR) and State Opioid Response (SOR) grants, which are managed by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA). The State-specific profiles provide background on the STR/SOR grants, outline each State’s efforts across the continuum of care, and describe the initial positive outcomes each State has experienced with support from STR and SOR grant funds.

State STR/SOR Profiles

Click State on map or below in order to view full profile.

Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Virginia Vermont Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming