## National Recovery Month September 2018

#### National Recovery Month Planning Partners **CALL FOR NOMINATIONS Due May 4. 2018**

### **Ramstad/Kennedy Annual Award**

For Outstanding Leadership By a Single State Authority

The first annual Ramstad/Kennedy Award was presented in 2008 to the Massachusetts Single State Agency (SSA) Director, Michael Botticelli, during a National Recovery Month (Recovery Month) reception at the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) State Systems Development Program (SSDP) conference. During this past year, the Recovery Month Planning Partners have been working to refocus our national efforts on expanding prevention, treatment and recovery support for the millions of Americans in need of treatment and recovery services for their mental and/or substance use disorder and their family members who are also impacted. The 2017 Recovery Month theme was Join the Voices for Recovery: Strengthen Families and Communities

Background: The Planning Partners have witnessed with appreciation as the SSAs have increased their critical role in supporting and promoting recovery and *Recovery Month* activities, materials and awareness in their states and within their agencies. The Planning Partners (200+ organizations and agencies) have also watched with appreciation the extraordinary and long-time efforts and passionate leadership of the Honorable Jim Ramstad (R-MN-ret) and the Honorable Patrick Kennedy (D-RI-ret) in the development, understanding and promotion of public policies to bring equity to care for people with mental and substance use disorders and their family members.

The Ramstad/Kennedy Award was established in 2008 to recognize an SSA Director who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in support of recovery and *Recovery Month* and to acknowledge Congressmen Ramstad and Kennedy for their commitment to recovery and recovery-oriented policies. The 2018 Award will be presented at the 2018 NASADAD Annual Meeting in Conjunction with CSAT and CSAP conference in Washington, DC, which is scheduled for May 21-24.

To nominate an SSA director, please refer to the criteria below, and complete and return the application form by May 4, 2018. Any questions can be sent to SSARMAward@nacoa.org.

Thank you!

Criteria: Single State Agency Director who has:

1. Provided outstanding leadership and innovation in promoting the goals of National Recovery Month during the previous year, including support of the 2017 Recovery Month theme, Join the Voices of Recovery: Strengthen Families and Communities.

2. Strengthened and expanded National Recovery Month activities within their agency and throughout other state agencies.

3. Provided support to strengthen and expand *National Recovery Month* activities that supported individual and family recovery throughout their state.





September 2018

4. Expanded the number and impact of *National Recovery Month* activities in their local communities.

Please provide the following information for the SSA Director that you are nominating:

Name:			
Title:	 		
Agency:	 	 	
Address:		 	
Phone:	 		
Email:			

**1.**) Briefly describe the activities or initiatives undertaken in 2017 – and their impact – which demonstrate outstanding leadership. Include efforts to engage all state departments to acknowledge and host activities for *Recovery Month* and additional efforts that fostered awareness and recovery support for children and families impacted by a loved one's mental or substance use disorder.

2.) Please include links to any reports/press releases for these activities and/or initiatives.

Name	
Phone:	 
Email:	

Thank you for your interest and support of National Recovery Month.

Nominations due by 11:59 pm on May 4, 2018. Send electronically to <u>SSARMAward@nacoa.org</u> or by fax to NACoA at 301-468-0987.



# National Recovery Month September 2018

### Ramstad/Kennedy Award A Legacy of Outstanding Service

- 2008 Michael Botticelli, Massachusetts; • recently Director of the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP)
- 2009 Karen Carpenter-Palumbo, New York •
- 2010 Carol Falkowski, Minnesota .
- 2011 Barbara Cimaglio, Vermont
- 2012 Craig Stenning, Rhode Island

- 2013 Flo Stein, North Carolina •
- 2014 Mark Stringer, Missouri ٠
- 2015 Gary Tennis, Pennsylvania •
- 2016 Kathy Stone, Iowa •
- 2017 Cassandra Price, Georgia •





