NASADAD releases Section-by-Section Summary of CARA 2.0

On February 27, 2018, Senators Rob Portman (R-OH), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), and Maria Cantwell (D-WA) introduced “CARA 2.0,” a bill that aims to build upon the Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act (CARA) of 2016. CARA 2.0 increases the funding authorization levels of several CARA 2016 programs, and proposes  policy changes to address the opioid crisis.

Access NASADAD’s summary of CARA 2.0 here.

Board Meeting Materials – March 2018

Dial-in information:

  • Dial-in number for Board Members: 1-719-325-2630 or 1-855-747-8824

  • Pass code for Board Members: 924 587 4603#


Board Book

  • Download the March 2018 Board Book here.



11:30 a.m. Call to Order/Roll Call – Robert Morrison, NASADAD

11:35 a.m. Welcome – Cassandra Price (GA), President

11:35 a.m. to 12:10 p.m. Public Policy Update/Prep for Guest Speaker – Robert Morrison

  • Access the Policy Update slides here.

  • See the final “Dear Colleague” letter in support of the SAPT Block Grant here

12:10 p.m. to 12:15 p.m. Approval of December 2017 Board Meeting Minutes – Kathy Stone (IA), Secretary 

  • See December 2017 meeting minutes on page 6 of Board Book.

12:15 p.m. to 12:30 p.m. Break

12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. An Update from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) – Guest Speaker: Dr. Elinore “Ellie” McCance Katz, Assistant Secretary for Mental Health and Substance Use

  • Read Dr. McCance-Katz’s bio here.

1:30 p.m. to 1:40 p.m. Break

1:40 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. De-brief from Guest Speaker

2:00 p.m. to 2:15 p.m. Executive Director’s Report – Robert Morrison

2:15 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. Treasurer’s Report – Doug Thomas (UT), Treasurer,  with Hollis McMullen/Rick Harwood, NASADAD

2:30 p.m. to 2:45 p.m. Break

2:45 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. Learning Collaborative Updates:

  • Treatment Coordinators Report – Joyce Starr (OH), President

  • Prevention Coordinators Report – Michelle Nienhius (SC), President

  • Women’s Services Coordinators – Heather Dougherty, NASADAD

3:00 p.m. to 3:15 p.m. Annual Meeting Update – Rick Harwood and Faye Simpson, NASADAD

  • See the prioritized topics for the 2018 Annual Meeting here.

  • See the draft Annual Meeting schedule here.

3:15 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. New Business/Adjourn